Media release header

Jules Armstrong Award recognises Brigalow youth

02 Jul 2018

In the lead up to NAIDOC Week, CS Energy is proud to sponsor the annual Jules Armstrong NAIDOC Week Encouragement Award at Brigalow State School.

The annual award, which was inaugurated last year, is named after the late Jules Armstrong. Jules was a highly respected local indigenous woman and proud member of the Brigalow community.

This year’s winner is Lilly Lazarus of Grade 6 of Brigalow State School. Lilly received a book pack worth $100, in addition to a $100 voucher towards her high school text books next year. Her name has also been engraved on the perpetual shield, which is displayed proudly at the school.

CS Energy Kogan Creek Power Station General Manager Phil Matha presented Lilly with the Jules Armstrong Award at the school assembly in late June.

Phil Matha with Lilly Lazarus 

Above: Kogan Creek Power Station GM Phil Matha presented Lilly with the award recently.

Brigalow State School is a small school and one of Kogan Creek Power Station’s closest neighbours. The aim of the sponsorship is to connect community – indigenous and non-indigenous – and support local education and youth development. The award is open to all students at Brigalow State School.

Selected by the teaching staff, the winning student:

  • Participates with full intent and consistency of effort;
  • Works and tries hard with a positive attitude;
  • Demonstrates excellence in attendance and participation;
  • Would benefit from an encouragement boost for the second half of the school year.

CS Energy is proud to sponsor this award in 2018 and beyond.