Corporate governance

CS Energy and its controlled entities are committed to achieving the highest standards of corporate governance in everything we do.

We understand and respect our role and responsibility to our shareholders and the people of Queensland.

Our governance framework

CS Energy is a Queensland government owned corporation that was established in 1997 under the Government Owned Corporations Act 1993. CS Energy is also a registered public company incorporated under and subject to the Corporations Act 2001 (Cth).

Two Queensland Government Ministers (shareholding Ministers) hold shares in CS Energy on behalf of the people of Queensland:

  • The Hon. Jackie Trad MP, Deputy Premier, Treasurer and Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Partnerships.
  • The Hon.  Anthony Lynham MP, Minister for Natural Resources, Mines and Energy.

The CS Energy Board is accountable to our shareholding Ministers for CS Energy’s performance and corporate governance. To facilitate the effective operation of the Board and CS Energy, the Board has delegated specific powers and authorities to Board Committees and the Chief Executive Officer. The Chief Executive Officer is responsible for the day-to-day management of CS Energy.

Our Governance Standard – sets out CS Energy’s Governance Framework and how we comply with the Corporate Governance Guidelines for Government Owned Corporations, Version 2.0, February 2009.